Login to your account
Forgotten Password? Click here
No account? Register here
Ian McMillan with Zaffar Kunial
Chloe Daykin with Chris Mullin
Cuckoo writer Hazel Atkinson
Slide 5
Phoebe Power with Jean-Sprackland
Fiction Winners at the 2014 Northern Writers' Awards
New Writing Bursary winners


Welcome to the 2016 Northern Writers’ Awards, produced by New Writing North and supported by Northumbria University and Arts Council England. This year we have £40,000 worth of support on offer for writers who live and work in the North of England.
Founded in 2000, the Northern Writers’ Awards support writers with cash awards to buy them time to write and to complete work in progress. We also offer wider professional advice and guidance to winners. Often, winning an award is just the beginning of the relationship that writers will go on to have with New Writing North. Previous winners have benefitted from introductions to agents and publishers and project-development support.
Our well-regarded Talent Party takes place each summer in London and launches our winners into the publishing industry via introductions to agents and publishers.
The awards are open to prose writers, children’s writers, authors of creative non-fiction, poets and television scriptwriters, supporting writers of all ages and levels of experience. The awards are judged by leading writers and industry professionals.
Explore this website to find out more about our previous winners and for all you need to know about the awards we offer.
The deadline for entering for the awards is Wednesday 3 February 2016.
You can submit entries for the awards via this site between Tuesday 1 December 2015 and Wednesday 3 February 2016. This will allow you to see what information you need to prepare prior to making your online application.
Winning writers will be contacted by New Writing North in June 2016.

Latest news

1 December 2015

Northern Writers’ Awards 2016 open for entry

The Northern Writers’ Awards 2016 are now open for entry until 11pm, Wednesday 3 February 2016. The awards offer £40,000 in cash prizes, mentoring and support to talented writers based in the North of England. Read more

27 March 2015

Record entries for the Northern Writers' Awards 2015

The Northern Writers' Awards closed for entry on Monday 2 February, with a record 866 entries. We are now in the middle of the judging process, and the winners will be announced at a ceremony in Newcastle upon Tyne on Wednesday 24 June. Read more

22 January 2015

Ten days left to enter the Northern Writers' Awards 2015

With just ten days left to enter the Northern Writers’ Awards 2015, join us for a chat about the awards. Claire Malcolm, chief executive of New Writing North, will be on Twitter at 12pm-1pm and 8pm-9pm on Thursday 22 January, using the hashtag #NorthernWritersAwards. Read more

Featured author

Degna Stone

Degna Stone is a Midlander is self-imposed exile. She visited Newcastle for the summer in 1999 and never managed to go home. She’s a regular performer on the North East spoken word scene and won a Northern Promise Award for her poetry...read more

Featured award

The Andrea Badenoch Fiction Award

This award, worth £2,000 is supported by the friends and family of the late writer and was established in her name. This award is for first-time female writers over the age of 42, the age at which Andrea published her first novel...read more

Support the awards

How you can help

There are many ways that you can support New Writing North to continue to develop support for writers and activities and events for young people and the general public. Individuals can donate funds to New Writing North to support our work with young people, to contribute...read more